Delete Twitter Account 2020: Twitter is one of the most popular social networks, and it’s not hard to see why. The short size of the tweets allows users to quickly and easily share information, thoughts, photos, or anything with others. The short format also ensures that users do not deviate their attention from the tweets and that they are easy to read. From funny tweets to even very informative tweets, you can find it all on Twitter.
Of course, Twitter is not perfect and there can be many reasons to delete your Twitter account and stop using Twitter. Maybe the format is not for you, you are concerned about your privacy or you are just tired of the endless attention seekers. The good news is that it is not difficult to permanently delete your Twitter account. If you are tired of Twitter, Twitter unfortunately does not have the option to temporarily deactivate your account, only permanent deletion is possible.
How to delete my Twitter account?
Deleting your Twitter account is relatively simple. After deleting your account, your username and profile will no longer be visible to others and will be completely deleted from Twitter. This will also delete all your tweets.
Twitter makes the difference between deactivating and deleting unclear. When you delete your account, Twitter calls this deactivating your account, unlike other social networks. In fact, your account will indeed be deactivated for 30 days after which it will be permanently deleted. So remember that deactivating your account does not work like on other social networks and your account will actually be completely deleted after the 30 days. After the 30 days have ended, there is no way to undo this.
You can delete your Twitter account in the following steps:
- Do you want to reuse your username or email address after deleting your account? Then you can first change your username by opening Twitter, opening the menu by pressing the icon with your profile picture, going to Settings and privacy, and then pressing Account. Here you will see a field to choose your username, change it to something else. You can also change your email address here. By pressing “Your Twitter data” you can also request an archive with all your tweets, even tweets that you have already deleted. If you want to download this data, this can take a few days and Twitter must have a working e-mail address so that you have to postpone deleting your account.
- Deleting your account via the Twitter app on iOS or Android, for example, can be difficult. The app may look slightly different on different mobile devices, sometimes the option to delete your account is not even available or very well hidden. Via the following link you go to the official Twitter website so you do not have to search for this option: Delete Twitter account or click here
- The advantage of this link is that it works the same on a laptop, desktop, mobile device, or whatever. On some mobile devices, this link will open in the Twitter app. In some cases this will not work. You can solve this by first opening the Twitter app, going out of it, and clicking the link again. Another option is to hold down the link and open it specifically in another tab.
- This link will open in your browser, so you may have to sign in again if you use the twitter app on iOS or Android. Do this if necessary.
- If you are logged in you will see a page to deactivate your account. In fact, as previously described in this article, deactivating means ultimately removing. Twitter gives you some more information about what happens when you continue.
- Press “Deactivate” if you are ready to cancel your account completely.
- Ready! After 30 days, your account will be completely deleted. Before these 30 days have expired you can reactivate your account by simply logging back in.
Delete the Twitter app
If you use a mobile device, you probably use the Twitter app. To completely quit Twitter, you probably also want to delete the Twitter app.
If you use an Android device, the method may differ slightly per device. Usually it is enough to search for the Twitter app and hold it for a few seconds until the option to delete appears. This will be in the form of an “X” button or, for example, a rubbish bin to which you can drag the app’s icon. Some Android devices do not support this, so it is best to remove the app via the Play Store. Open the Android Play Store, press the three dashes icon to open the menu, then click My apps & games then Installed. Now find the Twitter app, press it, choose Delete and confirm by pressing OK.
There is less variation on Apple devices. Hold the Twitter app for two seconds until the app starts to move and an “X” button appears. Press this button to delete the app. On Apple devices that support 3D Touch, you must hold the app with the correct pressure. Put your finger very lightly on the app for about one second until the previously described “X” button appears. If you press too hard this option will not appear and you will have to try again.
Read Also: Delete or Deactivate Facebook Account
I hope the above step by step method will help you to delete or deactivate twitter account. Still if you have any question or problem, then you can ask via comment box. If you found this article helpful, then you can share it with your friends and on social media also. Thanks!!