Are you worried about your privacy on Facebook, or are you just tired of Facebook? Then it might be a good idea to permanently delete or temporarily deactivate your Facebook profile. Fortunately, this is not difficult! We explain in a few simple steps how you can delete or deactivate your Facebook account.
Difference between Deleting and deactivating
First you have to choose whether to delete or deactivate your account. The difference between deleting and deactivating is very simple.
If you deactivate your Facebook account, this is temporary and you can always activate the account again. Your profile will be disabled, preventing others from seeing your timeline and most of the content you shared. Also, others will no longer be able to search for you. Messages that you exchanged in private chat will still be visible, as will your name in someone else’s friends list. You can still just use Facebook Messenger.
Everything on your profile is therefore actually retained, but will only be visible to a very limited extent. When you reactivate your account, your profile will be back the way you left it. Deactivating your Facebook account can be useful if you are not sure yet what you want. Keep in mind that Facebook still has all your given data.
Deleting your Facebook account is less temporary. When you delete your account, everything you have shared such as photos, messages or videos will be permanently deleted. Facebook Messenger will also no longer be usable. Since copies of private messages are kept in your friends’ inboxes, they will still be able to see your private messages unless they delete them themselves, but your name will no longer be visible with these messages. If you used Facebook to log in to another service such as Spotify or Pinterest, you may need to restore your account on these services.
Deactivating your account is an easy solution if you are tired of Facebook or do not yet know what you want, you can always come back without consequences. Deleting your account is final, so think carefully if you want to delete your account!
How do I delete my Facebook account?
As described above, everything you have shared will be permanently deleted when you delete your account. Your account will therefore be canceled completely. So think carefully before taking this step. Of course you can still create a completely new account afterwards. Deleting your account only takes a few steps.
- First click on the following link to go to the official Facebook help page: “Delete Facebook account permanently“. If you do this on a smartphone and use the Facebook app, you may have to log in again as this link opens in your browser. This page can not be found in the Facebook app on most smartphones, making this link useful.
- Here you see several options. A nice option can be to download your data before deleting your account. If you click on this, Facebook will give you the option to download all your shared content such as photos, messages, videos, etc. Even content that you have already deleted will be shown to you. This can be useful if, for example, you want to keep shared photos without downloading them one by one. Click the “Download data” button if you wish and follow the steps. Otherwise you can go to the next step.
- Simply click on the “Delete account” button at the bottom of the window to permanently delete your account. At this point you are done!
Your account will currently be available for a minimum of fourteen days to a maximum of 90 days. If you log in to your Facebook account within fourteen days, you will still have the opportunity to cancel the deletion. This option will show itself when you log in again. Your profile will be completely ended after a maximum of 90 days.
How do I deactivate my Facebook account?
It has already been described above that deactivating your Facebook account is temporary and you can undo it whenever you want without consequences. Much of your shared content will be invisible to others but will still be recoverable. Your account will be temporarily disabled. Deactivating your account only requires a few simple steps.
- Also to deactivate your account we have a handy link to an official Facebook page: “Deactivate your account“. Here you will also have to log in again if you do this on a smartphone and use the Facebook app. In contrast to deleting a Facebook account, this option will be found in the Facebook app, where it varies slightly per smartphone. Don’t want to use the link? Then go to the menu button on the right side of the Facebook app, click on Account Settings> General> Manage Account> Deactivate. However, the link is easy and always works the same.
- When you click on the link you will have to enter your password again, then follow the steps to confirm.
- At this point you are done! If you want to reactivate your account you simply have to log in again on Facebook.
Remove the Facebook app
After deleting or deactivating your account, you may also want to delete the Facebook app if you use a smartphone or tablet. You may also want to delete the Facebook Messenger app.
On Android devices, uninstalling the app may differ slightly between different devices. You can usually just press and hold the app until an option appears to remove it. This option can also be an “X” button or, for example, a trash can to which you have to drag the app. If this does not work you can also go through the Play Store. Then open the Play Store, click the three-stripe icon, click My apps & games, then Installed. Find the Facebook app in this list, open it and click Remove and then Ok.
If you use an Apple device such as an iPhone or iPad, you can press the app with your finger and hold it for two seconds. First the app will start to float after which it will start to move. Then press the “X” button to remove the app. On some Apple devices with 3D Touch, this works slightly differently and the correct pressure on the app is required. Here it is important to gently press and hold the app for about one second until the “X” button appears. If you press too hard, another menu will appear.