Instagram is one of the most popular social networks and a great way to share photos of your daily activities with friends or family. Moreover, Instagram offers you a simple and fast way to edit your photos with numerous filters. Nevertheless, you may have a reason to delete Instagram anyway. Maybe Instagram was not what you were looking for, are you concerned about your privacy or are you just tired of Instagram. Whatever the reason, it’s still a good idea to delete or deactivate your Instagram account if you want to stop using Instagram.
Deactivate or delete Instagram Account?
You have the choice between deactivating or deleting your Instagram account. The difference is not difficult to understand.
Deactivating your Instagram account is temporary and can be undone at any time. When you deactivate your account, your Instagram profile will be hidden from others. This means that your photos, comments, and likes are no longer visible to others. When you reactivate your account, everything will be back as it was originally.
Unlike deactivating, deleting your account is a much more drastic decision. Deleting your account is permanent and cannot be undone anymore. Everything related to your account will be permanently deleted. So, your profile, photos, videos, comments, and likes will all be deleted.
If you need a break from Instagram or are not sure yet, it is better to deactivate your account. Your data will of course still be available for Instagram until you permanently delete your account.
How do I delete my Instagram account?
As described above, everything related to your profile is deleted when you delete your Instagram account. So, think carefully before you do this, deleting your account is permanent! Also keep in mind that you cannot create a new account with the same username afterward. Only a few steps are required to delete your account.
- You cannot delete your account via the Instagram app, so we provide you with a handy link to go directly to the right page. First surf to delete Instagram permanently.
- Here you probably still have to log in, enter your username and password and press “Log in”.
- Now Instagram asks why you want to delete your account. Choose an appropriate reason. Instagram also gives you some solutions to common problems to still try to keep you on Instagram.
- If you want to delete your account, enter your password again and press “Permanently delete my account”.
- Ready! Your account will now be permanently deleted.
How do I deactivate my Instagram account?
Above, we described that deactivating your Instagram account temporarily hides your profile and photos, videos, comments, and likes from others. Deactivation is always temporary and can be undone at any time. You can only deactivate your account once a week and activate it again.
- Deactivating your account is not possible via the Instagram app. To request a deactivation on the official Instagram site, go to the following link: Temporarily deactivate Instagram.
- Then give Instagram a reason why you want to temporarily deactivate your account.
- To confirm the deactivation, enter your password again and press “Temporarily Disable Account”.
- Ready! To reactivate your account, you can simply log in to Instagram with this account.
Delete the Instagram app
You can also delete the Instagram app to complete the deletion. If you don’t know how you can delete. Then, follow below steps:
If you have an Android device, you can in most cases also hold down the Instagram app until the option to delete appears. This will vary slightly per Android device but usually comes in the form of an “X” button or a trash can. If your Android device does not have this option, you can open the Play Store, press the three-dash icon, click My Apps and games, and then Installed. Now find Instagram in this list, press it, click Delete, and then OK.
On an iPhone or other Apple device, you can press and hold the Instagram app for two seconds until an “X” button appears. By pressing the “X” button, the app is removed. On Apple devices with 3D Touch, you must press the app lightly for one second until the “X” button appears. If you press too hard you will end up in a different menu.